Spinach & Cheese Muffins

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted about anything other than London’s monthly milestones & what we’ve been up to.  But since we (FINALLY!!!) have internet that works, I’m hoping to be better about blogging.  We’ll see.

Spinach and cheese muffins.  Sounds delicious, huh?  Pete’s response when they were done cooking “eh, you’re really going to make London eat those?”  followed by “that really hits you in the nostrils” – not even sure what that means.  He’s obviously the foodie in the family with such a palette for new & different cuisine.  I give him credit though, he ate the honey-dijon salmon I made the other night & his feedback was “not the kind of fish I “usually” eat but it’s good” – mind you I’ve only seen him eat fish maybe 5 times since I’ve known him, so I’d love to know what kind of fish he’s usually eating…

I digress.  Back to the savory spinach & cheese muffins.  I had a ton of spinach that I needed to use (London & I both love green smoothies so I like to have it handy but kind of forgot we had the Costco size bag that somehow managed to make its way to the back of our vegetable drawer).  So I found this recipe & went with it.  After reading some of the reviews I made some of my own modifications in hopes of a better result.  I added garlic, extra cheese (cheddar & some parmesan), some dried diced onions, oatmeal & completely omitted the baking powder since we are apparently out (or I just couldn’t find it since London’s new favorite pastime is reorganizing my baking cupboard) and used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour. Muffin 3

All that to say, they are good…very good in fact.  Highly recommended. Muffins

Endorsed by my own little foodie.  This kid loves food.  The only thing she has denied, denied & denied again is any canned/food packets with meat in them…and when I think about it, I really can’t blame her.  Pureed chicken that can sit on a shelve with…anything.  Woof.  I’ve tried a couple of the packets and again, woof.

Leave a Reply

