Wedding

I know it’s taking me forever to get my act together & get all the posts from our trip up…wish I did, but I have no excuse…anyway…

As you may or may not know, the reason we decided to take this trip was a friend of our’s (Pete worked with her in London – they came to our wedding) was getting married.  It was their third wedding (to each other; they had a very formal wedding in Korea & a small legal ceremony in London) & more of a reception.  It was held in this beautifully restored mansion in Penang, The Blue Mansion.  I didn’t get any good pictures because of the lighting. 

20130128-201210.jpg

In addition to the buffet for dinner they had hired local street vendors to cook & serve local food.  They set up their booths just like it was on the street & cooked food to order.  I tried a bit of everything & it was all delicious.  It’s not traditional for local food to be served at a wedding but Jessica & Mark wanted to do this so all the foreigners would have a chance to try the local fare.   I was thrilled that they did; I had been a bit hesitant to get food from any of the street vendors we saw.

After dinner there was a “lion” dance, performed only for very special occasions.  Apparently the kids in Penang (maybe more broadly in Asia as well?) can take a class at school to learn how to perform.  It was quite impressive.  I’m still working on all my videos (even from South Africa).  I also have to mention that it was very funny that there was some serious gangnam style dancing by Jessica’s dad & uncles.  Pete was loving it. 20130128-201215.jpg

We had a great time.  It was nice that it was a casual affair.  Everyone there was extremely nice & welcoming.  Thankfully the spoken language there (as it is in Singapore) is English so we weren’t separated by our inability to speak the local language.  As you may or may not know, the dominant religion in Malaysia is Islam.  This created a bit of a conundrum for me when I was trying to find a dress to wear to the wedding, also when I was thinking about what to pack to wear when we were there.  My thoughts being, how do you dress VERY conservatively (like no leg showing, no arms showing) when it’s 95-100 degrees out?  Thankfully we found out a day before we left that Penang is not Islamic & therefore we didn’t have to worry about being covered.  Huge relief since it was SOO hot when we were there.

Leave a Reply

