‘Tis the Season!

I’m really getting into the Christmas spirit this year! I’m loving having a house to decorate – of course, that means I’m slowly starting to accumulate decorations which is all sorts of fun & exciting! Check out the “Keep Calm & Merry On” rug – representing England here in Chicago. As I mentioned in a previous post, we bought our [1st] Christmas tree on the way home from the airport the Saturday after Thanksgiving. We only had a handful of ornaments, so I had to buy a box (definitely should have been on the hunt for these this summer at yard sales but I missed the boat). And we needed lights & garland! And a tree skirt (aka a piece of fabric). I had the tree decked out by Sunday afternoon.

20121203-185319.jpg
And I have to admit I did some decorating before we went away. Pete was in London the weekend before we went to South Africa so I took the opportunity to put up decorations downstairs…mainly the mantel. Still not sure if Pete noticed the fall decorations came down & the Christmas ones went up…or that we had fall decorations to begin with. At least I thoroughly enjoy them!

This past weekend I (as previously mentioned) finished decorating my gingerbread house. I also took advantage of the warm weather (it was in the 60s) & put lights on some of our outdoor trees. We don’t have a ladder so it was an interesting process of me flinging lights around trying to get them to stick. The neighbors were probably laughing at me.

20121203-185355.jpg
I’m kind of sad I don’t have more crafty decorations…I’ll have to get on that this week/weekend…

Leave a Reply

