What’s Not to Love About Fall?

Really! It’s my favorite time of year.  Pete’s too! I’ve been really impressed with the colors in our neighborhood & the weather has been beautiful (minus the rain last weekend & week).We’ve been talking about having an open house” at our house since we moved in, this weekend we finally got around to it. The fall timing was great for me; there are some fallish recipes that I’ve been wanting to try & I love fall colors & decorations.I got a little carried away with the food but I tend to panic that there won’t be enough. We had about 25 people come over the course of the afternoon. No one showed up for almost the 1st hour; Pete & I were laughing that it was just going to be the 2 of us.Menu (posting for my own benefit of remembering what I made/served)
Apps:
Veggies & Dip
Cheese & Crackers
Chips, Salsa & Guacamole
Baked Brie & Apples
Spinach & Artichoke Dip (substitute mayo with sour cream)

Main:
BBQ Chicken
Hamburgers/Cheeseburgers
Hotdogs
Pasta Salad (that I forgot to put out)

Desserts:
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Funfetti Mini-Cupcakes
Spice Mini-Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting (add a little milk)
Muddy Buddies (known around these parts as “Dog Food” or “Puppy Chow”)

I was trying to send people home with food. Yesterday I packed an entire reusable shopping bag full of desserts for Pete to bring to work tomorrow – trying to get all this food out to the house.

4 thoughts on “What’s Not to Love About Fall?

  1. 1. This POST is SOOO PRETTY!
    2. I wish I lived in the area so I could stop by for this open house!
    3. YOU ARE AMAZINGLY TALENTED! Well just plain AMAZING!
    4. ok….so I had to laugh at Pete’s model stance in the photo of him
    5. also laughing about 25 peeps coming over…are these the 25 bffs pete has at work LOL
    6. I love that 25 people came (wasnt laughing too hard at you just remembered our chats when you first moved to Chicago) and that you have friends there!
    7. I LOVE AND MISS YOU TONS!!

    • LOVE the list! You crack me up!
      1. Thank you!
      2. I also wished we lived close, so you/I could stop in any time.
      3. Thanks again:)
      4. This also made me laugh & he has a mouth full of food, so he’s smilely kinda awkwardly.
      5. Majority of the guests were people we work with.

      Most importanlty, love you & miss you!! I’m loving reading about you & Tim!

Leave a Reply

