A New Hobby

A SEWING MACHINE!!

The thought hit me just like that.  I’ve been thinking that I need a hobby here in London, since I have very few (if any) friends and a lot of free time on my hands, thanks largely in part to the winter weather and hours of sunlight.  I do, and always have, liked arts and crafts. 

Balsam Fir Pillows - Wedding Favors

I’m not an artist by any means but crafting has always been something I have enjoyed which is probably why I love the London markets, caulk full of artsy/crafty things ranging from jewelry and clothing to furniture and other random treasures.  Did I mention that, with LOTS of help from my mom, I/we made the save-the-dates and favors for my wedding? 

During my last trip to Spitalfield Market before I went home for Christmas I found a booth stall that sold “hand-stitched” children’s clothing.  They were adorable!  But one look at the price tag had me moving on the next stall.  My immediate thought was, I could make that myself for 1/10th of the cost, probably less.  I didn’t think about it again until last week when *BAM* the sewing machine idea struck.  I can’t say that I went out and bought my sewing machine on a whim because that wouldn’t be true.  At first I told my husband, who was indifferent to the idea but did agree that it would be nice for me to have a hobby.  I spoke with my mom that evening and found the support and encouragement I needed to finalize the purchase.

So now I can say I’m the proud owner of my very own sewing machine.  It isn’t anything too special…in fact, it was the most inexpensive decent machine I could find (can’t spend loads of money on a machine with UK wiring/AMPS/etc. when we’ll be back in the US in the next couple of years).  But it works!  And so far it works well!  Yes!  I’ve been sewing!  More like practicing.  And cutting out patterns!  Oh what a pain!  Anyone thinking about buying downloadable patterns, consider this before you do: 36 A4 pages that must first be printed, then appropriately lined up, taped together and finally cut out.  Cutting the patterns out is a big enough job by itself!

I have to say that I’m enjoying (with the exception of cutting out the pattern) the whole sewing process…so far.  Fortunately, I discovered that I work one street over the textile capital of SoHo.  There are at least five textile stores within walking distance of my office – makes my lunch hour so much fun!

Leave a Reply

